Committing to working 2 hours at a certain time

Hi everybody, new user here. I’m currently experimenting with one goal, to lose weight, as a continuation of an existing (and fairly successful) program.

My real goal is rather different. I would like to ask your collective opinion on the feasibility of forming a new habit by doing two hours of intensive work at a particular time, using Beeminder and (tentatively) RescueTime.

I work as a freelancer from home and so far have been pretty successful, earning multiples of the median income. The problem is that my deadlines tend to be midnight of each day, and I have a tendency to stuff all my work into the last few hours of those days.

Usually the first couple of hours of the day (from when I get up before 07:00 to around 09:00) are spent talking to clients in different time zones by email, discussing project deadlines and content. During that time I am focused. I answer emails and respond to requests and queries very quickly and methodically, which my clients really like.

However. After that I tend to drift, and typically I get very little done in the morning. I futz around in internet forums, read news, that sort of thing. If I’m not careful, I am likely to drift in the early afternoon as well.

Obviously this puts me under more pressure than is strictly necessary in the second half of the day as I scramble to hit deadlines. I also feel that I could earn significantly more money if I just buckled down to it, for example, for two hours from 09:30 to 11:30 every day, in addition to late evening, when I am usually working.

I should clarify that I do not have a problem actually hitting deadlines: I do hit them. If I didn’t, my clients would not use me. It’s the manner in which I do it that is the issue, and the desire to be more efficient.