how to make a goal to GAIN weight

I’m underweight and don’t want to be. My goal is to gain 0.75 lbs a week, and I have a withings scale to record it.

2 Likes

We definitely do this. Under the hood, there’s a goal type known as gainer.

Easiest thing to do is probably to set up a withings goal, and then email support@Beeminder.com with the details so that we can change the goal type and set you up with an achievable slope.

(My own history with weight suggests setting a conservative slope on the weight goal and creating complementary goals to help me eat appropriately, etc.)

2 Likes

I’ll pop in here uninvited, in the hope that my experience be useful or at least
interesting.

I have no experience beeminding weight, but having gone from 140 to 94Kg, I have
some experience where weight modulation is concerned. I always had more success
when focusing on the diet than the scale numbers. For me, this meant focusing on
my hunger and sticking to my ketogenic diet.

I would try beeminding daily calories. With such a specific goal as 0.75lb/week,
I would say that calorie counting will be necessary. And as much as everyone
loves avoiding it, I’ve always found peace of mind when measuring everything. I
guess I’m a QS nerd at heart.

The problem with beeminding weight, and especially weight gain, is inconsistency
and unpredictability. Calories are predictable, and if the slope is set properly
(and adjusted every other week, more or less), should lead to predictable weight
modulation.

3 Likes

It must be personality; I also think of myself as a nerd, but a previous effort at weight loss by counting calories (before I discovered Beeminder) put me off counting calories for life. What eventually took me off that diet was the drudgery of looking up and recording everything that I ate.