My experience trying Beemium, and then switching back to Infinibee

So, for background - I’m a college student and there’s a recession going on :joy:

Beeminder has been the perfect fit for my kind of brain, but before Beeminder the context of college was enough pressure to keep me on track. (with the help of a Habitica to-do / habit list!) Over the sudden COVID-19 transition, Beeminder’s negative reinforcement served up the accountability I needed to finish the projects I wanted to do.

But once college started up, Beeminder kept working but I was derailing more often because I’m on my senior year at college and there’s a lot of activities that took up almost every minute I can time block, alongside the demands of socialization and real life derailments! Being a college student, I needed to save every dollar I could, so I switched my plan from Infinibee to Beemium (Student) and switched my goals to pledgeless goals, hoping the motivation of seeing the graph in the green would keep me going - and it did, mostly! But there were a few tasks that easily fell to the periphery that I ended up neglecting without the negative reinforcement, which I didn’t want to increase their pledges due to my cost-saving focus. The important goals, however, stayed on track. But in the process, I realized I lost two things.

A) Negative Reinforcement where you need it

It turns out, reinforcement is most needed for me in the small tasks you can’t bring yourself to do in the moment but end up kicking yourself for not finding the fifteen minutes to do them. But the aforementioned budgetary constraints kept me from switching goals that I needed to switch to negative reinforcement!

B) Lack of the other type of reinforcement