Tech help beeminding OmniFocus

My life would be a lot better if I could beemind tasks like cleaning my OmniFocus inbox, completing my scheduled reviews and not letting tasks go overdue. For a little over a year I’ve been saying to myself that if I had Beeminder for this, I would stay on top of it a lot better. So now I’m finally going to do something about it, but I need some help.

I’m a pretty experienced software developer, but I have no experience with web platforms or cloud computing. I can see all of the pieces that I need to make OF talk to Beeminder, but I can’t quite see how they fit together. OF keeps its data in an XML file that is pretty straightforward to parse. I can access this file either through a) Omni’s WebDAV interface or b) DropBox. I can write an application server in Ruby/Java/whatever that reads the XML file and presents it as a REST API. Once I have the REST API I can point Zapier or IFTTTT at that and then I’m at the finish line.

My main stumbling block is how I host the application server so that anyone can use it. In order to let another user access their OF data, it seems like my application would need their credentials, which maybe they are not crazy about.

So if anybody could comment on my general approach and any thoughts about my stumbling block, I’d be grateful.

3 Likes

Step one is to try it out manually before you go down an implementation rabbit hole.

I’ve successfully beeminded my weekly and monthly reviews for years. None of them tied automatically to my systems. (Though the narrative reviews are updated via Zapier noticing that I’ve added a text file to a directory.) We beemind the Beeminder support queue manually, too, by getting a point every time that we hit zero. And like most things, I wouldn’t have done nearly as much without beeminding it.