Beeminding one-offs (specifically, tax returns)

Newbie here. I need to do a couple of tax returns, for different countries, by different deadlines. Which I keep putting off. They’re a once a year thing. How can I best beemind these?

1 Like

I’d make an individual ‘do more’ goal for each one each year.
You can then set the goal value to either 100 (and do percentwise beeminding) or an estimate for the number of hours you think it is going to take.
Set the goal date to a couple of weeks before the government deadline in case your estimates were off.

Thanks for reminding me I need to set one of these up!

4 Likes

The default graphs will encourage you to make steady progress towards a goal. If you’d prefer, say, to do everything in the 6 weeks before the deadline, then you could also use take a break to flatten the road for the 10½ months that you don’t need to do anything. (Just remember that your slope in the 6 weeks that count has to be steep enough to get you to 100%.)

I’ve tried a variety of things over the years to beemind preparing for conferences. (Which are similar in that they also have a real-world imposed deadline with real-world consequences.) Here are some ideas:

• time, either manually entered or automated with RescueTime or TagTime
  • number of slides/pages completed and/or started
  • days of doing ‘something’ toward the goal
  • increasing slopes — start shallow, then schedule increases as the deadline approaches

The increasing slope model might be useful, like a monthly check to see whether there’s anything to do before month-end for any of your finances.

@insti’s percentage idea has the singular benefit of being able to mark a goal as ‘done’ at any point, without having to wait a week. Equally, you can email support to tell us that you’ve filed your return and we can adjust the goal straight away.