Dating with Beeminder: a Journal

Beeminder has solved every persistent problem in my life – I’ve been using Beeminder since the summer of 2020, and it has helped me become a consistent runner, a 100+ books a year reader, a habitual tooth-brusher (and, more recently, flosser), a gym go-er, and a piano practicer. I’m a mostly happy, productive grad student who survived moving across the world during the pandemic. I believe that almost any life situation I might encounter could be improved with a well-designed Beeminder goal and a bit of inspiration.

So… can Beeminder help me date?

I’ve been single and open to a new relationship since January 2020. For a while, there was a good excuse to not be exploring the dating pool (a pesky virus), but now I’m tripple-jabbed, single, and ready to meet new people. I’m tired of listening to my own excuses, about waiting for the right person to come along, and about how tiring it is to send messages into the void on apps. I do lots of other hard things, so why not this one? I love first dates, so really my biggest hurdle is maintaining the energy and habit of sending the message.

I set up a Beeminder goal (Do More, +1 per day) for actions taken towards setting up dates. 1 action counts as sending a first message or engaging in an ongoing conversation towards setting up a first date.

No more opening Hinge/Bumble/etc., swiping to the limit, sending a flurry of messages, and then pretending the app doesn’t exist. I’m Beeminding the input, and crossing my fingers for the output.

As long as it’s ok with the community, I’ll plan to update this journal with how it’s going with my goal of sending messages and keeping conversations going. Assuming I ever go on any dates, I’ll probably share how I’m feeling about that, too, while maintaining the privacy of everyone involved.

Have you ever made any dating or relationship-related Beeminder goals? Any tips as I embark on this nerve-wracking experience?

9 Likes