Gamification

I’ve come across a couple comments from staff in blogs / the forum where there is vague criticism of the idea of gamification. But nowhere do I seem to find an actual justification or discussion on a philosophical or practical level as to why this is… Is that post hiding out there somewhere?

3 Likes

Good question! I think you’e right, we’ve just vaguely disparaged it – like in an old blog post where we praise a competitor for doing so – without ever making a solid case against it.

Want to debate it? Maybe this is the place!

I don’t know anything about it yet! I only learned it was an actual idea when I came across the term here. I thought it was interesting because when I was younger I had the idea of using role-playing character sheets as self-improvement tools. I was hoping, in turn, have an introduction to the debate here. :slight_smile: I’m pretty new to these quantified ideas of self-improvement.

1 Like

Thinking more, it’s not gamification that I object to. I like games. And Habitica is a shining example of brilliantly turning boring real-life things into a game to motivate you to stay on track with your goals. (I’d go so far as to say that some people may derive so much motivation from Habitica that Beeminder is superfluous for them. More commonly, though, Habitica and Beeminder work for different kinds of goals. And of course even when Habitica has you covered motivation-wise you may still want Beeminder’s graphs. I guess we’ve written all about how Beeminder and Habitica complement each other.)

So gamification done right is great. This forum software has much more mundane gamification – the kind that I’ve tended not to like – but I confess that it’s done very tastefully here. Like seeing that people have liked my posts here 1200 times is pretty gratifying, and my gallery of badges is pretty information-laden.