Issues with Goodreads for Books Read

Hi everyone! I’m trying to automate all or most of my Beeminder goals as I’m not very good with numbers.

I’ve been having issues with Goodreads and IFTTT. I want to count books read, not pages read. Looking at older threads here, I tried the status update “started reading” RSS (in my case finished reading), but that didn’t submit to Beeminder. (Now Goodreads just says “added” a book instead of finished/started.)
So I tried putting the RSS feed of my “read” shelf. It looks like this: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list_rss/5228124?key=yThJZxjUdoNpPHIb8_viVDk4jHhOInIQV96RbIcR6ufk6P7N&shelf=read

I can’t get that to work either. I put it in IFTTT’s authentication link, and it came out invalid. (Too much information?) I don’t know enough code to fix it so the only info Beeminder gets is “added to Read shelf.” Maybe it’s user error on my end? Can anyone help? Thanks! I love Beeminder so far!

1 Like

+1 for an official Goodreads integration :slight_smile: @dreeves

5 Likes

Yes please an official integration @dreev! I was frustrated and confused when what other people set up didn’t work. I think I was trying to beemind stuff I don’t really have to beemind right now, as a beginner. I’ll just stick with Goodreads itself for now.

1 Like

@heatherjmitchell one thing you can setup easily on Goodreads is a yearly challenge. You commit to a certain number of books per calendar year. It will show you how many books ahead or behind you are.

(However, there is no sting, and you can change your books/year at at any time.)

1 Like

I’ve done yearly challenges on Goodreads before. Thanks for the suggestion though!

I guess I’m more like the people who want to track certain books, not all the books they read. I’ll change it to Time Read per day, and see how that works.

2 Likes

That’s weird. I have the RSS to Beeminder in IFTTT working fine.