Need Help Creating Goal

So I am trying to create a goal that will help me not procrastinate on my homework. I am currently doing where I need to have 3 todos related to school done today. However I dont think this has been helping as much as like. I thought of doing maybe time based (a certain amount each day) however I feel like this is less flexible if say there is a day in the week that I am gone all day or something and if I get homework done early for a week it really complicates things. With the 3 todos I can just choose smaller tasks. Any suggestions on a type of goal that you think might do better. So far all my other goals have been good, I am new to beeminder, I have only been doing it for 2 weeks. This is the only goal I am having issues figuring out.

3 Likes

Welcome! And great question. It can be agonizing/paralyzing picking the most meaningful metric.

Two quick pointers for now that could be helpful:

1. We have a blog post with thoughts and principles for picking a good metric to mind: https://blog.beeminder.com/whattomind
  2. Thereā€™s a very ancient but classic guest post about using Beeminder for studying that I recommend: https://blog.beeminder.com/gandalf/
1 Like

Iā€™m curious - why do you say it hasnā€™t been helping as much as you like? What seems to be the problem?

Itā€™s usually best to start small and try to do it consistently - so if you have been consistently doing the todos for 2 weeks, maybe give it another week or two and then add more?

I have a goal called frogs which is similar: I have to check off 4 a day from my to-do list. What Iā€™ve noticed is that thereā€™s a lot more friction for some tasks than others, either in terms of time spent, aversion to doing the task, or both. So Iā€™ve added in a point system: each task gets from 1 (put on a load of laundry) to 3 (do my husbandā€™s business bookkeeping). So far thatā€™s been really helping me take on the things that I would otherwise push out until they became a problem.