Planning emergency days in advance

I’ve become an avid Beeminder and TagTime user. I’m also a nurse and work 12hr shifts in a hospital. My work schedule essentially prevents me from making progress on my goals on work days (2-3 days/week). I am also unable to stay up late the night before a shift (to avoid harming patients due to sleep deprivation) and cannot plan on staying up the night after a shift (due to the high likelihood of complete exhaustion). That leaves me with 4-5 days and 2-3 nights each week in which I can work on most of my goals. I’m guessing this situation puts me in a small minority of beeminder users.

The result of my wacky schedule is that I’m keeping my goals easier than I’d like and planning far in advance in order to build up a buffer and avoid emergency days landing the night before or the day that I work. Especially since I started using TagTime, I want to give myself enough buffer that I can minimize the chances of being derailed by unusually long ping intervals. It’s starting to get cumbersome with the number of goals I have, and I’m curious if anyone else has encountered this problem or has a method for planning when their emergency days happen?

Basically what I want is to look in one place and see how much work needs to be done on each of my goals in order to provide myself enough buffer to last until my next opportunity to work on that goal. Like a system where I input my next available day for making progress on each goal and then get the amount of progress that I need to make today as an output. Or make the emergency day for the goals I’m worried about show up on my google calendar so I can see at a glance where those days will land (and watch the days move farther away as I make progress on the goal). Or maybe there’s a much simpler solution? I just don’t want to have to visit each goal page and figure it out for myself each time. Any ideas?

8 Likes