Project Goal

Hello everyone,

I am new to Beeminder, and I have a challenge. I have joined Beeminder to incentivize myself to do a better job completing project goals on time. Seems reasonable. Here is an example;

1. I would like to spend three hours per week cleaning my garage until it is done. That’s it. Right now it’s pretty messy, and it will be done when I say its enough, and is neat. Like anything, that is a sliding scale. I’m not interested in scrubbing the corners on my hands and knees with a toothbrush however, just something reasonably need and clean, that others, if they saw it, would consider neat and clean. This might take 10 hours, or 15, or 20. I’ll know it when I see it. When I get to the end, I want to end the goal and mark it complete, and move on to other things. How can I do this? It appears that Beeminder is really not set up for project goals, unless I am mis-interpreting this. I find this bizarre, because most of the goals I set for myself are project goals, not necessarily long-term habit goals. Please help.
    PS: I see that you can create custom goals with the third level of membership; with this help in this case? Many thanks – JOHN
3 Likes

Will you know about a week ahead of time when it’ll be done? If so, set your goal as a Do More goal with a rate of 3 hours a week (remember to add a safety buffer unless you want to start right away!). When you are a week away from finishing, set the end date, and everything works out! Then you can delight in your clean garage and add another goal if you want :slight_smile:

The key is that Beeminder doesn’t let you end a goal without a one week delay so that you don’t just quit a goal without thinking about it.

Even if you don’t realize you are going to be done, an extra 3 hours will just make the garage extra sparkly :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum! :smiley: