How to beeminding a book to read

Hey all !

I have two books which I have been putting off to read since a number of years. I wanted to start beeminding my reading in order to push myself to start reading these two books which I have been procrastinating since the past 7 years.

The book is a self development book which has exercises within the chapters. Each exercises takes time as it requires you to answer questions which need reflection and contemplation.

I did scour the forum for book reading goals, but I found two approaches:
1 Beeminding the % of the pages read
2. Beeminding the time spent on reading the book.

I did think hard to try and think of a way to use these existing goal formats to my reading goal, but I could not apply them for the following reasons:

1. The number of pages can not be beeminded because there may be a case where two self reflection exercises may be put in a span of two pages. So on such a day Imay just end up reading 3 pages because I would be spending the maximum time to answering the exercises.

2. I did try and to beemind the time, but I did not find the it to exert enough sting to get me to read. Due to self reflective nature of the book it leads you to waste time and not make progress.

Has anyone tried and tested a tricky like mine. I would love to hear all the comments from the expert beeminders.

Regards
Sails

2 Likes

Iā€™m currently Beeminding books per month using an IFTTT recipe linked to my Goodreads account. Itā€™s nice because books I read via Kindle (either using the app on my phone or my actual Kindle) get marked as read automatically when I finish them, but I can also manually add paper books as well. I think you can just search IFTTT for Goodreads and then add it to Beeminder. It was pretty easy to set up.

3 Likes

Multiple goals, each with an ā€˜easyā€™ slope, each measuring progress in a different way. Thatā€™s what I do. The combination usually encourages the behaviour I wanted.