Blogging with beeminder

Hey all,

Recently I got a bit shy in BUI - the alternative Beeminder UI (more charts) because for me the tool just works. I gave up adding more integrations and I relaxed a bit my beeminder schedule.

I have yet another idea though.

I work in IT. Things are changing at dramatic pace and I want to keep up with the latest trends. I used to collect articles to read in Pocket and I was actually reading them :smiley: Then I learned about beeminder, so I would like to bring my pile of things to read to this superior tool.

But clearing the Pocket is not enough, as you sometimes want to take some notes or save link as important, then share your notes with friends. Also, I had no sense of making progress, as my read links were dumped into nowhere.

In other words, I want to have:

• list of todos (can be stored anywhere, I use Things)
  • tool to take quick notes
  • ability to publish and share notes
  • sense of accomplishment. I went through around 800 pieces of data since I “track” it.

I would like to use Beeminder as an intermediary for storing short notes. I put up really simple blog that reads Beeminder data and publishes them as a blog. In other words, a blog is a side effect of adding Beeminder datapoints.

This is the flow:

I’m going to decompose it as I go and share it with you.

Right now, I built a super simple website that reads datapoints from my beeminder goal. This ain’t much, but it’s honest work.

Next, I would like to build a simple iOS Shortcut to ask me about notes and send a datapoint to Beeminder. Adding datapoints is too tedious now. Then, I would like to build a subpage for every datapoint, add the ability to search inside my blog etc. This is the end game most likely:

Imagine this could be your book notes, progress on your classes, Spanish words you learn etc. This can be also automatically posted to your Twitter or wherever you want, with a link to your blog.

3 Likes

So the flow is like this: