Help requested: Creating a goal from the command line using the API

If anyone has a script they’re running from the command line (alternatively, PHP could work too) to create goals, I’d love to snag that from you to use myself. I’m not a programmer and my usual copy/pasting-until-something-runs method has not yielded any quick successes in terms of figuring out how to create goals from the API, and that’ something that would be really helpful for me. If anyone has a script to share, I’d really appreciate it!

(PSA: Don’t trust scripts other people write unless you know them or someone can vouch for them… or you’re feeling really, really lazy…)

5 Likes

Sure!

2 quick notes:

1. This requires the program curl, but it comes with macOS and lots of Linuxes.

2. This would leave your API key (which is sorta like a password) in your history file on your computer. If you have a reason to not be OK with this, then, uh, remove it, I guess, or don’t do this? Maybe your computer is shared with mischevious people who try to peek into your stuff, or you are always streaming to the public and they’ll see your API key as you type this and then go and mark all your goals as done and you’ll lose out on being as awesome as you could be? :slight_smile:

OK, all that being said:

1. Get your API key. Go to https://www.beeminder.com/api/v1/auth_token.json, and there’s a part in quotes at the end (not username, not your username, and not auth_token). That’s like a password. Don’t share it with folks.

2. Open a terminal, and (after tweaking for your circumstances), paste in the following, and then hit enter.

curl -X POST https://www.beeminder.com/api/v1/users/me/goals.json \
    -d auth_token=AUTHTOKENGOESHERE \
    -d slug=exercise \
    -d title=Work+Out+More \
    -d goal_type=hustler \
    -d goaldate=1400000000 \
    -d gunits=workouts \
    -d rate=5 \
    -d goalval=null