Setting up Beeminder with Toggl

I just started using Beeminder and I’m finding the experience a bit overwhelming…

All I want is this:
Beeminder tracks if I study foreign languages every single day (at least 15 minutes)
If 15+ minutes studied – OK
If no study time [or less than 15 min] – STING

To stay accountable I use Toggl (a time tracking app)

The problems I’m running into:

1. When I study more than 15 minutes, the app rolls this result over to the following days (hence, studying for 2h = studying for 8 days, and that’s not what I want it to do). Every single day should have the “minimum 15” requirement, it doesn’t matter if I studied for 12h the day before.
  2. I simply don’t get the counting process. Right now, with 8 minutes logged on Toggl for today, I’m at “+00:02 due in 1d 10h 37m.” I think it should say 7 minutes due in 10h 37m… (8 min logged + 7 that still needs to be logged =15 minimum)

Can someone please help explain this to me? I feel quite stupid right about now…

3 Likes

Welcome to the Beeminder forum!

It sounds like you’re looking for the autoratchet feature in the Beeplus plan (“Automatically trim safety buffer”). With that feature you can set your goal to automatically trim your safety buffer down to one day if it gets higher than that.

Hope that helps! :slight_smile:

p.s. I felt overwhelmed when I first started using Beeminder, too, it’s a pretty geeky service. But once you start learning the lingo things start getting a lot easier. :wink:

2 Likes

Thanks for the response – I wasn’t aware this was a premium feature.
However, at this point I am not able to pay $16/mo for it :frowning:

What would be an alternative?
I suppose I could set up a simple YES/NO goal with manual input? Then I wouldn’t have to deal with the surplus building up so fast…

3 Likes