Abhinav's Beeminding Journal

Hi everyone,

I went through a pretty bad productivity slump this year. I lost my father in February & till October I just couldn’t study the way I used to. There were a lot of things beyond my control too. So, I don’t want to be too hard on myself. I am just happy that I am back on track.

To get out of the slump, I had been reading some books on productivity like atomic habits, the motivation myth, Deep Work, digital minimalism & finally motivation hacker. It was from the last book that I came to know about Beeminder. I have tried making some goals & later deleted them in the last month on Beeminder. I just first wanted to know what would be some sustainable yet ambitious targets. I guess I have found the right goals now.

I completed my Masters this June & I am currently preparing for a competitive examination in India. I have all the time at my disposal & I would really appreciate if there is a tool that can keep me accountable. I hope Beeminder does the trick.

I would be updating my weekly update here. 2020 is just about to start & the beginning of the year would be a great anchor point for getting back on track. Posting my progress here would add a little more accountability to the whole process.

Here are my goals:

1. Answer Writing: 4 answers every day = 28 answers a week.

2. Studying my optional subject for 3 hours every day= 21 hours a week

3. Write two full length objective tests every week & write 1 full length subjective test every two weeks

4. Read newspaper everyday & read 15 days worth of assigned articles every week (I have a few months of backlog).

5. Study Ethics for 10 hours every week.

6. Though I haven’t beeminded my total study hours, I would like to study for at least 8 hours every day= 56 hours every week.

Health Related Goals:

1. 4 KM run every day

2. 20 hour Intermittent fast for 5 days a week