Trying to Beemind studying and getting up on time using Tasker. Feedback would be appreciated!

Hi! I’ve been using Beeminder for quite a while now but haven’t really gotten into using the forums much. I have found a lot of great information here lately, so I’d like to get more involved in the community!

I’ve found that data points which are automatically added (such as step counts from my Fitbit) are the only ones that are effective for me. Ever since connecting my Fitbit to Beeminder, I’ve consistently met my step goal, only derailing twice in over a year, if I remember correctly. I’m a student on a limited budget, so the threat of losing money is extremely motivating to me. I’ll be honest though, if datapoints are left up to me to enter, I’ll put in whatever makes me not derail. This is why I’m only interested in setting up new goals where data is automatically added.

I have two terms left before graduation, and they’re both pretty intense. I know that in order to maintain both my grades and my sanity I need to study consistently, and I’m fortunate enough to have the time available to dedicate to school full-time. I just have to stick to studying when I’m supposed to.

I also need to wake up on time consistently, which is something I’ve never been able to do. I’ve read a lot of great suggestions here for using Beeminder for waking up on time, but none I couldn’t cheat my way out of. I wish I had more self-control, and hopefully I will someday (I’m reading the bookclub books!), but right now I know that my sleepy brain cheats whatever system I set up and goes back to bed.

So my plan is to use Tasker to auto-log the time that I’m in the buildings where my courses are or the library. I’ve set up a 40-hour per week Do More goal to track those hours.