Goals from Garmin Connect

Hi,

I’m new to Beeminder. I use Garmin Connect for Steps (Forerunner 25), Runs (Forerunner 25), Cycling (Edge 1000) and Weight (via oldish ANT Tanita scales and an Ant weight app on my phone).

I can setup goals for steps and distance but I can’t see

a) how to get my weight from Garmin Connect

b) how to differentiate between running and cycling.

All my data is synced with Strava but I don’t think you have Strava support either.

Thanks

1 Like

Try the following

1. create a MyFitnessPal (MFP) account and link it to Garmin
  2. Garmin should start sending weight data to MFP
  3. create a Fitbit account and link it to MyFitnessPal
  4. MFP will start sending weight data to Fitbit
  5. Add a weight goal on Beeminder, connected to Fitbit

@bee perhaps something to look into making less difficult?

1 Like
  1. Create a RunKeeper account and link it to Garmin
  2. Garmin will start sending activities to RunKeeper
  3. create a RunKeeper goal on Beeminder, you can choose which sport to focus on
1 Like

Thanks for both (quick) replies!

I’ll have a go with both these. However, the proliferation of accounts and links feels a bit fragile, hard to debug and hard to remember how it all connects over the long term. For example I don’t want to end up paying beeminder because 1 link in the long chain broke.

Dave

3 Likes

I don’t have anything Garmin, but could this help in any way?
https://apps.garmin.com/en/apps/04890351-a25c-40ad-afae-f3c6907fe05f

It’s definitely a good goal to prefer simplicity over complexity, but I wouldn’t worry about actually having to pay money because a complicated goal broke.

Beeminder is really good about not charging for “not legit” derails.

5 Likes

Ain’t gonna happen. If part of the chain breaks, but you did the cycling/running/whatever, email support and we’ll stop the charge before it goes through.

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion.
My watch is one of the more basic ones that can’t run apps.