My Beeminder browser extension

I’ve been using a browser extension to add a few features to Beeminder’s frontend that I’m sorely missing (in the vein of this thread from 2016).

I’ve been using this extension in one form or another for a couple of years, but I’ve only now gotten around to releasing it as open source. (Yeah, yeah, you know how it is. How have the plans for open-sourcing Beeminder been going lately?)

The extension currently does two things:

1. It allows you to collapse/minimize goals down to a single line at the end of the goal list, hiding the graph and all but the bare minimum of data. This means that I can collapse anything “done for the day”, or which I don’t plan on getting to for now.

(But it doesn’t allow you to collapse goals which are red, keeping them in your face whether you like it or not.)

Minimized goals can be re-expanded by clicking on them, or with a hotkey of o, which unminimizes all such collapsed goals.

2. It gives you a full-text search style interface to filter your goals. Hit the f hotkey to open a filter box, in which you can type just about anything: part of a name, a description, or a tag, a color (like red or green), as well as things like time (for time-formatted goals) or coasting (for goals you are coasting on.)

The list of goals is filtered in real-time as you type, giving you the same Beeminder dashboard interface that you know and love, just with an appropriate subset of your goals.

(This is the primary way I use Beeminder tags. It works really well. I just wish that adding tags was easier. I’d love to add a better tag-editing UI, but unfortunately tags aren’t exposed at in the API…)

You can download the extension for Firefox, download a zip you can load in Chromium with “load unpacked extension”, or you can build it yourself from source.

13 Likes

This is amazing! The ability to search through my goals is a killer feature for me since i have a lot of goals.

3 Likes