Newbie wants to clarify something about post derailment - getting back on track

Hello there, I am completely new to the whole joining up apps thing and to Beeminder. I have been playing with IFTTT, Zapier, Gmail/ Google Sheets linking etc and eventually set up 4 goals using a variety of these, but I wasn’t really ready for the organisation it would take to stick with it all and then I went on holiday and of course everything derailed - because I was just playing none of the goals were pledged with money. I want to restart my goals but I’m worried that because the goals are now frozen (and have been for a few weeks now), that if I pledge money to unfreeze them that I will be in an impossible position where I will never be able to get back on the road because so much time has passed- does pledging money to restart a goal now put you back on the road, and does it give you the week lead up that you get when you start a new goal? Is it best to archive these goals and set up new goals with pledges?

Any advice on this would be great, I’ve read a few blog posts but I’m still not entirely sure. I know Beeminder will be a great tool for someone like me - and I want to get back on track :).

Many thanks

Eddie

3 Likes

Howdy,

I’ll assume we’re talking about Do More goals here. Let me know if you are talking about Do Less.

By default you do get a week of grace period when you resume a goal. There is a setting called No Mercy Recommit where you can disable that, but if you didn’t fiddle with the setting, you should get a week of flat road.

An important thing to note is that because you can always change the slope of your road starting a week out, a week of flat period means that your previously dialed in slope is totally irrelevant. So you might have had it set to “Do 10000 things per week” but after you re-rail, you can adjust that to whatever you want.

3 Likes