Python project for Beeminder

Hey!

I’m a newbie at python, and have just recently completed an introductory python course. I’m looking to pick up a project, and I thought nothing would be better than trying to manipulate some beeminder data.

My idea is simple: create a graph (on demand) for the past 7 days of my reading goal data, displaying the total minutes read of each book that week.

I’ve never used APIs before or created a graph using python, so I’m just looking for some pointers and places to get started.

Thank you if you contribute to this! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Hi! I think this is a great idea!

When starting out in new things, one of the best meta-skills is being able to tailor project ideas and expectations to something that sustains motivation and leads to successes. It can be tricky to split a project into small enough pieces that each is achievable in an appropriate amount of time, while still being interesting enough to keep motivation when you hit the inevitable snags. When doing something like programming, there can be a large amount of “setup” to get started for new folks, and it can be a slog just get set up!

First, some questions:

Do you want to make your own graph of your own design, or tell the Beeminder API to make a graph and download and show that?

Do you already have a Beeminder goal that has your reading data?

If you want to make your own graph, do you have any ideas of how you want it to look? I would recommend drawing something out on paper even.

In terms of things to look at on the Python side…