Tracking calories

Hello there,

I’m a newbie to Beeminder but I’ve used it briefly in the early months of 2020 before COVID-19 disrupted my daily routines. I want to be held accountable for tracking my food - I use LoseIt to push data to Fitbit which can autosync with Beeminder. So I’ve created a goal not to exceed a certain amount of calories. However, the problem is that I often do not track the calories and then this goal will not help me as it will definitely not exceed the limit. So I want to have both a minimum (that indicates I’ve actually tracked the calories this day) and a maximum (so I stick to the calories I can consume that day). Any ideas on how to implement this?

best wishes,

Claus

1 Like

You need a second goal for monitoring the minimum amount of calories. For example if your average is 2000 calories per day, you can set a rate of 1800. You can also set the “Max safe days” number so that you’re always at a state of having 2 or 3 safe days.

An alternative is to make a binary goal “did I track calories today and consume between 1800 and 2000 calories?” with a rate of 1/day. If yes, enter a 1; if no, you get charged!

@clausdh For me personally I would create a separate goal that basically states I tracked my calories for the day. Some examples where I have done something similar include:

1.This goal was made to make sure I don’t delete my GTbee tasks as you can delete them without marking them complete so I do a daily check to make sure I did not delete any. (nogtbeedelete – linux535 – beeminder)

1. I didn’t want to have a beeminder goal for a lot of smaller simplistic tasks. So I decided to use the streaks app to put in all my smaller tasks (about 8 tasks). Issue was I wanted to find a way to hold myself accountable to not deleting my streaks goals since unlike a beeminder goal I could delete them on a whim. Thus (nodeleteorreducestreaks – linux535 – beeminder) was born. It has worked great for me.