Suggestions for using beeminder to keep on track with grading of assignments and papers (very short-term goals)

Hello all,

I have used beeminder successfully for many years and I love it. Never posted in the forum before though. But now I am looking for some suggestions.

I beemind pomodoro’s for my work. I work as a lecturer at a university. That works really well. However, when it is time to grade assignments, the system falls apart. I still work my number of pomodors, but I do less urgent things and procrastinate terrible on the grading of the assignments. Often the grading only really takes me a few days, so I have a hard time imagining how a beeminder goal would look for that. Ideally, I would like a very short-term goal where the x-axis shows hours instead of days. But I don’t know if that is even possible?

Any other clever suggestions on how to do this for something as simple as getting assignments graded?

Any suggestions appreciated!
Simone

3 Likes

How about a fine print that says you have to prioritize grading papers over other things? So that when there are papers to grade, you’re only allowed to track pomos after you’ve tracked at least a certain amount of pomodoros grading papers a day, as long as there are papers left to grade?

Short term goals suffer from the akrasia horizon, actually. I have tried to make myself read papers in the short term, but it didn’t really work…

P.S.: I think short term goals could be a feature of beeminder. Maybe a request is in order?

2 Likes

There’s GTBee in case that fits the bill here. It’s a bit stale at this point so feel free to drop any feedback on it here if it’s close to being what you need but not quite!

2 Likes

If you can stretch this goal to last a week, and start with 0 days buffer, you could beemind it I think

2 Likes