TaskRatchet Development Updates

Summary

This thread exists to chronicle the development progress of TaskRatchet, a todo app which lets you create one-off monetary commitment contracts to accomplish specific tasks.

Original Post

A while back I read the discussion about the I’m Going To discussion, and it’s been bothering me ever since:

A bunch of us here want this to exist. I’m a web developer; I could make this happen. And so I’ve decided to get serious about it:

These are the basic tasks that I’ll be starting on:

• Finding a name (any great ideas?)
  • Buying a domain
  • Prototyping the UI
  • Deciding on a tech stack
  • Creating a feature roadmap

Per the todo-updates goal, I’ll be posting an update right here roughly once per week.

I’d be thrilled if all of you amazing people in the Beeminder community would share your insights and wishlists as I take this project forward.

6 Likes

Are you thinking of doing this independently of Beeminder, or using Beeminder to assist?

Using Beeminder would mean users only need one app and one account and might save you some work, but it would probably bee less profitable since you’d only get the app price and not the pledges.

1 Like

Great question. :slight_smile: I talked to @dreev a bit about that, and I’ve pretty much decided to do this independently of Beeminder, for a few reasons:

• The fact that there is at least the potential that this project could be financially sustainable makes it a lot more appealing to me.
  • Of course, if it does prove to be financially sustainable, that also means it’s a lot less likely to die off.
  • I’d like to get the experience of building a full software-as-a-service product.
  • I really don’t want to require people to buy an app that turns around and asks them to pledge money on their tasks.
6 Likes

Makes sense - here’s what I’d want to see in an app:

• Available for android