Using Trello to force me to go to the gym

Hello, this is my first time posting. I had an issue similar to this post by ffgm. Pretty much the issue is that there’s a way to circumvent tracking through IFTTT and instead opt for manual data entry. But I felt that this option led me to cheat so I wanted to share a solution using Trello that can circumvent this a bit and might help others .

I’ve previously created a workout goal in beeminder using IFTTT to create a beeminder data point every time I entered the gym. For the first couple of months, this went phenomenal and I was very consistent. But eventually I took advantage of this hack and stopped going to the gym.

So what’s the solution?

Well, it’s not perfect, but it has to do with the fact that you can’t change the data entry method for beeminder integrations with other software, with the exception of IFTTT, Zapier, and Make(integromat). For example, I can’t change data entry options for twitter, todoist, habitica, trello, etc.

With that in mind, we can make beeminder track one of these software integrations instead of making IFTTT send a datapoint to beeminder. I initially wanted to use twitter to do this, where a tweet would be automatically made if I enter the gym. Unfortunately, all 3 (IFTTT, Zapier, and Make) needed me to purchase their subscription plans to do this because twitter’s API is very expensive. I tried doing this through tasker and the authentication was very difficult, and so I gave up on twitter.

Trello, on the other hand, makes it easier to track nearly any task and force yourself to do the task. I’ll assume we all know what trello is, but if you don’t, it’s pretty much a tool that uses boards, lists, and cards to organize tasks. Kinda like an advanced to do list. Beeminder will track one of the lists and check if it’s growing, if it’s not it will charge us.